All-District volleyball awardees announced

By Griff Servati
Van Alstyne Leader

The District 9 volleyball coaches recently released their All-District awardees for the 2020 season. The coaches meet to vote and choose the district superlatives after the season but before the playoffs begin. The announcement is made after the last team in the section is eliminated from post-season play. This year the Aubrey Chaparrals, the third-place finishers in our local district, advanced to the regional finals. They lost to the Kennedale Wildcats, the same team that the Lady Panthers fell to in the first round. 

Ashlynn Quillan was named the district Server of the Year for 2020.

The Coaches awarded superlative awards to players from the top four teams, with Celina's Megan Hodges named the district's MVP. Van Alstyne's senior Ashlyn Quillan earned the Server of the Year and the teas only superlative district award. Those in attendance at the away game in Sanger have several lasting memories attached to that game, one being Quillan starting the game with nine straight serving aces. You know you have something special when the opponents' fans cheer for just getting a ball into play after so many spectacular serves. 

Valerie Young was an a first team All District selection for 2020
Janessa Crawford

First-team selections for the Lady Panthers were seniors Valerie Young and Janessa Crawford. These two seniors were leaders in the "kill" statistics for the Lady Panthers. Valerie led the Lady Panthers with 171 and Janessa just behind here with 162. These two players were versatile players that played all the way around for Veronica Mendez's Lady Panthers. 

Earning second-team selections were Sammy Moore and Sydney Sullivan. Sammy Moore, the junior Middle Blocker for the Panthers, led the Lady Panthers in blocks and was third in kills on the season. Sullivan, the defensive specialist for the Lady Panthers, was the second leading dig leader. 

Honorable mention district honorees for the Lady Panthers were Senior Kylie Allen and Junior Abby Lange. All of the team members earned Academic All-District by caring an A average in all of their classes: Those making Academic All-District were: McKena Jensen, Riley Ross, Jadyn Cranford, Hannah Hemphill, Janessa Crawford, Abby Lange, Jaidan Servati, Samantha Moore, Valerie Young, Sydney Sullivan, Ashlyn Quillan, and Kylie Allen.