As low as 99¢ for the first month
As low as 99¢ for the first month

Election 2020: What You Need to Know

By Joshua Baethge
For the Anna-Melissa Tribune
Polls on election day open at 7 a.m.

The end is finally in sight.  After an unprecedented election season fought under to specter of a pandemic, residents will finally go to the polls and cast their votes.

Actually, a record number of Texans have already gone to the polls. For those who haven’t yet, early voting ends at 7 p.m. Friday.  After that, their last chance to have their voices heard will be on Election Day, Tuesday, November 3.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Voters must present a valid photo I.D. before casting their ballots. There will be 100 voting locations across Collin County. Voters registered in the county may go to any one of them.  

This year’s Anna polling location is the board conference room of the Anna ISD Administration Building, located at 201 East 7 th  Street. Melissa’s lone voting location is the gym at First Melissa, 2101 East Melissa Road.

While the presidential election has obviously garnered most of the attention, there are contests on practically every other level of the government as well. On the national stage, Republican incumbent John Cornyn will look to hold off a challenge from

Democrat MJ Hegar in the race for US Senate. Republican Pat Fallon is the favorite against Democrat Russell Foster to be the District 4 congressman.  The US House of Representatives seat was vacated in May after Jon Ratcliffe resigned to become the Director of National Intelligence.

In the District 3 race, Republican incumbent Van Taylor looks to hold off Democratic challenger Lulu Seikaly is what is shaping up to be a very competitive race.

On the state level, Republican Scott Sanford is seeking his fourth term in the Texas House.  He faces Democratic challenger Angie Bado. 

Republican incumbent Reggie Smith squares-off against Democrat challenger Gary D. Thomas for the District 62 State Representative seat.  James “Jim” Wright faces

Democrat Chrysta Castañeda in the race to join the three-member Railroad Commission that regulates the state’s oil and gas industry.  Wright beat current commissioner Ryan Sitton in the Republican primary.

There are also a number of state supreme court seats up for grabs, as well as multiple judicial positions and one state school board race. On the county level, Sheriff Jim Skinner and Precinct Constable Mike Vance are running unopposed. The county Tax Assessor-Collector race pits Republican Kenneth L. Maun against Democrat John Turner-McClelland. For place 3 County Commissioner, voters will choose between Republican Darrell Hale and Democrat Dianne C. Mayo. 

Locally Anna has competitive races for both the city council and school board.

For Anna ISD Place 5, Clark Miller is seeking his second term against Rebecca Saveal, while the Place 7 seat features Larissa Thornburg, who’s been on the board for 12 years, against challenger Joshua Carpenter.

Three Anna Council seats are up for grabs. In the Place 3 race, Stan Carver, Elden Baker and Hugh Heath are looking to replace John Beazley, who is stepping down.

Current Place 5 councilman Nathan Bryan is running for the open Place 4 seat against Randy Atchley and Bryan Heath. The seat opened up earlier this year when councilman Chris Reeves stepped down.  The winner of this race will serve the balance of his term, which runs through May 2022.

Danny Ussery and Kelly Patterson-Herndon are vying for the Place 5 seat currently held by Bryan.