After their bi-district-championship season, nine Melissa Lady Cardinals have earned spots on the recently released District 11-4A All-District superlatives and honors list. Leading off, senior outside hitter Caroline Kasson was named District MVP for a third-straight season. Kasson is Melissa’s all-time kill leader (1,857) and was voted last year’s Texas Sports Writers Association Class 4A Player of the Year along with other state-wide honors. State-wide awards for 2019 have not yet been named.

In 131 sets played this past season, Kasson posted 584 kills, 354 digs, 57 service aces and 67 blocks. She recently signed her National Letter of Intent to continue her athletic and educational career at Jacksonville State University in Alabama.

Earning First-Team All-District honors for the Lady Cards were senior setter Ella Branson and sophomore libero Chelsea George. In 131 sets, George dug up 597 balls, with 125 assists and 76 aces. Branson, playing 130 sets, collected 505 assists, 138 digs and 45 aces.

Second-Team All-District honors went to junior setter/hitter KG Matthews and sophomore outside hitter Brooklee Waltrip. In 126 sets played, Matthews produced 574 assists, 205 kills, 199 digs, 15 blocks and 42 aces. Waltrip, with 127 sets, totaled 233 kills, 100 digs, 37 aces and 29 blocks.

Honorable Mention nods went to Alexis McCombs, Abbey Maldonado, Mallorie Power and Saniah Anthony.

Fifteen Lady Cards earned prestigious Academic All-District recognition including Branson, Matthews, Kasson, George, Waltrip, McCombs, Maldonado, Power, Allie Norton, Sydney Norton, Ally Stinton, Kenzie Segleski, Paitlyn Garlington, manager Kenzie Frantz and manager Jasmine Thomas.

The Lady Cards’ team awards banquet is slated for Dec. 19 at the Melissa ISD home office.



MVP Caroline Kasson — Melissa

Hitter of Year Heather—Griffith Celina

Blocker of Year Mya Afflerbaugh—Sanger

Libero of Year Laney Roos—Aubrey

Setter of Year Megan Hodges—Celina

Server of Year Sage Murray—Celina

Newcomer Year Sydney Garrison—Aubrey

Staff of Year—Celina