After a trip to the regional quarterfinals in the playoffs, a host of 2018 Melissa Cardinals were among those recognized on the just-released District 11-4A awards list. Senior Tate Whittington was named Co-Offensive Player of the Year while six of his teammates earned first-team honors. Those picks included senior pitcher Andrew Cole, senior corner infielder Brady Morrison, senior designated hitter Bobby Houston, junior middle infielder Isaiah Segovia, junior outfielder Sean Turnage and sophomore catcher Trevor Brooks.

Second-Team selections for Melissa included senior pitcher Krisjon Segleski, senior corner infielder Adam Davis, sophomore middle infielder Tyler Womack and sophomore outfielder Grayson Hurst. An honorable mention nod went to junior outfielder Dillon Youngblood.

The 2018 Cards finished second in district play with an overall mark of 26-12, topping Caddo Mills and Sanger in the playoffs.