Coach Seth Stinton’s Melissa Cardinals are well-represented among District 5-4A Division II’s All-District selections for the 2016 football season. Three Cards earned district superlative honors, including freshman running back Kaedric Cobbs, who was tabbed the district’s Offensive Newcomer of the Year; freshman linebacker Ja’Bray Young, named a Defensive Newcomer of the Year along with Aubrey’s Austin McCallion and Celina’s Skyler Bohall; and senior Gunnar Murphy, picked as a Utility Player of the Year, with Tanner Gardiner of Aubrey.

In addition, Melissa’s First-Team selections include seniors Jacob Shelton and Tarek Wallace, and juniors Payton Wallace and Cole McCraw. McCraw made First-Team on both offense and defense.

The complete list of Cardinal honorees is below, including Second-Team picks, Honorable Mentions and Academic All-District selections.

Offensive Newcomer of the Year

Kaedric Cobbs - Fr.

Defensive Newcomer of the Year

Ja’Bray Young - Fr.

Utility Player of the Year

Gunnar Murphy - Sr.

First team

Defensive end: Jacob Shelton - Sr.

Outside linebacker: Tarek Wallace - Sr.

Wide receiver: Cole McCraw - Jr.

Safety: Cole McCraw - Jr.

Inside linebacker: Payton Wallace - Jr.

Second team

Offensive tackle: Alphonso Vieramontes - Sr.

Offensive guard: Dante Rogers - Sr.

Quarterback: Tate Whittington - Jr.

Cornerback: Marvin Jordan - Jr.

Running back: Breelyn Armstrong - Jr.

Center: Adam Rogers - Jr.

Receiver: Kennedy Lewis - Soph.

Honorable mention

Safety: Antonio Tamez - Sr.

Defensive end: Garrett Heinz - Sr.

Defensive end: Gabe Rodriguez - Sr.

Offensive tackle: David Ferrier - Sr.

Offensive tackle: Tyson James-Owen - Jr.

Inside linebacker: Breelyn Armstrong - Jr.

Inside linebacker: Tommy Gallardo - Jr.

Cornerback: Drew Cummings - Jr.

Receiver: Drew Cummings - Jr.

Defensive tackle: Vincent Rangel - Jr.

Outside linebacker: Collin O’Neal - Soph.

Safety: Kennedy Lewis - Soph.

Offensive guard: Trevor Duggan - Soph.

Academic All-District

Kaedric Cobbs

David Ferrier

Garrett Heinz

Cole McCraw

Gunnar Murphy

Collin O’Neal

Nathan Sprinkle

Tate Whittington