As has become the custom, the March meeting of the Anna ISD board of trustees on March 20 started on an upbeat note with a number of recognitions.

Board President Ty Chapman and Assistant Superintendent Thomas O’Neal recognized Teachers of the Month, Caught in the Act honorees and the Employee of the Month for March.

Teacher of the Month from the high school was Dana Condron, from the middle school Laina Dillman, from Bryant Elementary Jacey Matlock, from Rattan Elementary Leigh Ritchey and from Early Childhood Center Mika Francisco.

The district’s long standing Caught in the Act tradition recognizes district personnel who are doing something "above and beyond the call of duty." Honored from the high school was Armida Tanguma, from the middle school Sia Wangler, from Bryant Elementary Anita Bickenbach, from Rattan Elementary Judy Smith and from Early Childhood Center Maggie Olvera.

Jessica Justus was named Employee of the Month.

"Thank you for all you do," said O’Neal.

The main agenda items of the meeting focused on establishing the groundwork for the Anna ISD superintendent search. Following a presentation by Dr. Russell Marshall, President of Arrow Educational Service, the board selected Arrow as its superintendent search firm. Arrow had previously done a superintendent search for Anna ISD in 2009 and has just completed a search for Melissa ISD.

The superintendent search timeline and candidate interview process was established by Marshall and the board members. The Anna ISD Superintendent position will be posted on March 24. Marshall pointed out to the board that 80 percent of all applications will be in during the first week. Arrow, through its processes, will narrow the candidate number to six or eight, and the interview process with the board of trustees will begin on April 28.

In other board business: An ordinance was adopted cancelling the May 10, 2014 trustee election since both incumbents, Ty Chapman and Larissa Thornburg, were unopposed. Rutherford, Taylor & Company was approved as auditors for the 2013-14 school year, and Tribune staff writers Marcus Elliott and Ken Gaidziunas were nominated for TASB Media Honor Roll.

And starting with next month’s meeting the board approved 6:30 p.m. as the new start time for all future meetings.