Grayson College is preparing to award 595 degrees and certificates in its first Winter Commencement ceremony on Saturday.

GC’s ceremony will start at 11 a.m. in Cruce Stark Auditorium at the college’s Denison campus. Students receiving Associate of Science, Associate of Arts Teaching, Associate of Applied Science degrees and certificates of completion will participate in the ceremony. The Texoma Regional Police Academy and the college’s Associate Degree Nursing program will hold separate ceremonies on Friday.

This will be the school’s first Winter Commencement ceremony and was initiated by GC President Jeremy McMillen. McMillen will also award a new President’s Award honoring an outstanding graduating student who has performed well in the classroom while simultaneously engaging in student service to others on and off campus.

Former GC graduate Jonathan Shultz will deliver the commencement address. Shultz completed an Associate of Arts degree in Theatre at GC and transferred to the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, in the Department of Theatre, where he earned a bachelor’s and a master’s degree in Fine Arts. Upon completing his master’s degree, Shultz moved to New York City where he pursued professional acting and teaching. Two years later, he moved to the west coast, and after surfing and acting in Los Angeles for three years returned to Texas, making Austin his home. He became involved in the theatre community, acting and teaching integrated voice, movement and acting as well as yoga. He has recently returned to school and is attending Parker University in Dallas on his Doctor of Chiropractic degree.

Music for family seating and adjournment for the commencement ceremony will be provided by Music Department students. The invocation and benediction will be presented by GC International Student Advisor Brad McClenny.

Vice President of Instruction Jeanie Hardin will certify the degrees before McMillen and the Board of Trustees confer the degrees. McMillen will also recognize the outstanding contribution of retiring administrator Roy Renfro. Renfro has served the college for 40 years and retires as the executive director of the Foundation and vice president of Resource and Community Development.

Grayson awards degrees in Associate of Applied Science (AAS), Associate of Science (AS), Associate of Arts in Teaching (AAT) and Certificates of Completion (CERT.) Students with exceptional grade point averages are noted for their distinction. Those with 3.70-3.84 graduate with cum laude (C), gpa of 3.85 - 3.99 as magna cum laude (M) and 4.0 as summa cum laude (S). Students earning certificates of completion with A’s in all certificate classes are listed with "honors" (H.) Students completing the requirements of the Honors College program are also recognized.

Candidates for graduation, listed by hometowns, for 2013 include:

Anna: John Christopher Williams (CERT), Joshua Glen Williams (2 CERT-H; AAS -S),

Blue Ridge: Jeremy Oliver Watts (CERT),

Bonham: Amber Lee Bridges (CERT), Jerred Wayne Brown (AAS, CERT), Stephanie Renee Carroll (AAS, CERT), Colton Dane Chaney (CERT), Diana Lynn Crutcher (CERT), Marlin Dale Crutcher (CERT), Matthew Lee Evans (AS), Alexandra Ann Felke (AS - S), Sara Jane Garcia (AAT), ), Joe Dylan Garza (AAS), Macie Rachel Greenwood (AS), Christopher Lynn Healy (CERT), Melessa Kay Honeycutt (AS), Crystal Brook Miller (CERT), Chanteal Frances Pearson (AS), Dadrain Jerome Stewart (CERT), Kerbi Blake-Lee Wagner (CERT), Larry Floyd White (CERT-H),

Howe: Codie Danielle Brinlee (CERT), Gerica Elizabeth Burton (CERT), Carrie Lynne Dean (AAS), Patsy Jean Grant (AAS, 2 AS), Clinton James Henderson (CERT), Hayden Carter Huntsman (2 AS), Ciarra Cheyene King (AS -S), Yvonne Leslie Kost (CERT), Sarah Danielle Laroche (AS), Zachary Dylan Pelt (AAS, CERT, CERT-H), Destinee Aerabella Raisor (AS), Benjamin Claud Robinson (AS), Adrian Rodriguez (AS), Jack Landrum Roper (CERT-H), Eduardo Andre Webber (CERT), Bethany Ann Wells (AAT, AS),

Leonard: Simon Robert Akers (AS), Mary Elizabeth Buses (CERT), Nicole Rose Craft (CERT), Kendra Jillian Dougherty (AS), Nola Cathrine Lee (CERT), Kimberly Ruth McAdams (CERT), Yesenia Ester Montano (AS), Amanda Donnell Songer (CERT), Kenneth C Sproles (CERT-H), Amy Michelle Waldron (AS), Lauren Michelle Wilkins (CERT),

Tom Bean: Roni Michelle Hamm (AAS), Ashlyn Nicole Ledane (AS), Shelley Renee Rowe (AS),

Trenton: Gregory Dean Edwards (AAS-C, CERT-H),

Van Alstyne: Linda May Ames (AAS-C), Magdalena O Biscarro (AAT), Clifton Garrett Carnley (2 AS), John Tyler Carnley (2 AS), James Craig Eskridge (CERT-H), Kimberly Gail Hinson (CERT), Stephanie Nicole Horton (CERT), Angel Adan Jaramillo (CERT-H), Ashley Kristine Keith (AAS), Berta Mae Phillips (AAS, CERT), Erin Jeanette Ward (AAT-S), Mollie Rose Webster (CERT), Kathryn Marie Young (CERT), Weatherford, TX: Kevin Riley Cornelius (AS),

Westminster: Coby Scott Cook (AS),

Whitewright: Heather Ruth Chastain (2 AS), Joshua Don Clay (AS), Kelli Denise Clouse (CERT), Jessica Anne Dillman (AAS), Caci Leann Groom (CERT), George Carl Harrell (CERT), Dwayne Lynn Henderson (CERT-H), Isaac Wayne Hickerson (CERT), Ashlie Marie Hill (AAS), Haley Lauren-Jane Langford (CERT), Kasandra Nicole Morris (CERT-H), Robert Mark Neathery (AAS), Kasandra Ann Poindexter (2 AS), Amy Elizabeth Watson (CERT),