Recognition and district finances were the dominant topics at the Anna ISD school board meeting on Aug. 15.

The Anna-Melissa Tribune staff writers Marcus Elliott and Ken Gaidziunas were recognized as 2013 TASB Media Honor Roll members for "fair and balanced reporting and providing valuable Anna ISD information to the community about schools, their students and parents." Both were presented certificates by school board Vice President Duane Hayes and Assistant Superintendent Thomas O’Neal.

Shelli Conway and Debbie Dumas of the Education Foundation introduced nine scholarship winners who briefly described their winning projects.

Seven educators were recognized from the Elementary Schools: Greta Adams for her Summer Reading Spectacular, Kate Gilmore for J.K. Bryant’s Compost Stew, Jessica Glenn for Collin County Adventure Camp, Akasha Hines for On Fire Reading, Jacey Matlock for Collin County Adventure Camp, Amber Reynolds for Technology is a First Graders Best Friend and Mindy Vandagriff for Project iPad Everywhere.

From the Middle School it was Sheryl Harlow for Paperless Reading and from the High School Marianda Wysocki for World History and Spirit field trips.

Dumas said that this was the fifth year of announcing Education Foundation winners, pointing out that Greta Adams and Sheryl Harlow have won with their projects each of the five years.

The board heard an update on the STAAR results from Director of Curriculum Sue Akins who said that "all campuses met standards and there were improvements in all areas."

The 2013-14 school year budget was approved by the board. "We are going into this year with a positive outlook on the budget," said Superintendent Larry Johnson.

The board also approved the Anna ISD tax rate for the 2013-14 school year at $1.54 per $100 valuation, which is the same rate as last year.

Regular meeting date changes were approved by the board. The remaining meetings for 2013 will be held on Sept, 16, Oct. 14, Nov. 14 and Dec. 9. Regular meetings, on the third Thursdays of the month, will resume on Jan. 16, 2014.