A group of AHS Band members competed at the Texas State Solo and Ensemble Competition on May 25 at Hendrickson High School in Pflugerville. It was a good trip for the AHS band members, particularly five members who returned home with more gold than they left with.

Five AHS students earned first divisions on solos: Dustin Encizo – senior trombone; Matt Seago – sophomore bass trombone; Kristina Lob – junior percussion; Dillon VandenHoek – junior percussion; Chance Forrest – junior percussion. When a student earns a first division on a solo, he or she is awarded a gold medal.

Six AHS students earned second divisions on solos: Sydney Rowell – senior clarinet; Khrystian Rice – senior clarinet; Mattie McGowan – senior horn; Tyler Divers – sophomore trombone; Ben Turner – junior saxophone; and Kyle Simpson – sophomore tuba. When a student earns a second division on a solo, he or she is awarded a silver medal.

One AHS ensemble earned a first division: The Clarinet Ensemble of Elizabeth Smith (senior), Sydney Rowell (senior), Khrystian Rice (senior), and Sommer Halbrook (junior). Ensembles that earn a first division are awarded a special bronze medal.

The AHS Band had a total of 42 students in 21 events who advanced and competed at the State Solo Ensemble Competition.