The Anna High School Band celebrated its successes from the past year at the annual Banquet and Awards Ceremony on May 28.

The band had plenty to celebrate: In the 2012-13 school year it was named as a Sweepstakes Band (earning first divisions in marching, concert, and sight-reading) and also as a UIL Area Marching Finalist; 42 students earned first divisions on solos at UIL Solo Competition; 42 students advanced to the state solo contest in ensembles and solos; and the band enjoyed an all-time high number of students who made the All-Region Band.

The following students earned director named awards in the AHS Band: Dustin Encizo (senior) – John Phillip Sousa Award; Hayden Self – Senior of the Year; Kristina Lob – Junior of the Year; Matt Seago – Sophomore of the Year; and Heidi Sanders – Freshman of the Year.

The following students earned awards voted on by the band: Ben Vang (junior) Bandsman of the Year; Brenda DeSantiago (freshman) – Rookie of the Year; Presley Davis (8th grade Marcher of the Year); Blake Henson (junior) and Alexis Barrientos (sophomore) Band Beau and Sweetheart; Marcus Winrow (senior) and Callie Bolender (sophomore) - Most Spirited Guy and Girl.

Additionally, Dustin Encizo and Mattie McGowan were awarded scholarships in the amount of $500.

At the end of the evening, the band recognized 15 students who will be graduating on Friday: Marcus Winrow, Sydney Rowell, Khrystian Rice, Elizabeth Smith, Karla Glover, Ceci Taylor, Mattie McGowan, Hayden Self, Cody Long, Ryan Hull, Dustin Encizo, Anthony Alvarado, Will Labor, Robert Miller and Russell Thompson.

"I am extremely proud of these seniors," said Chris Burk, Director of Bands at Anna High. "This group of students were sixth graders when I arrived here in 2006, and they are a very exceptional group. We will miss them."