The Anna Independent School Board will be holding an election for board members in May. What makes this election unique is there are three open positions that will be voted on.

Back in October, the Anna-Melissa Tribune reported that Tom Plunkett resigned. This is the reason Anna School Board President Shelli Conway said this election is a little different.

“Tiffany Terry is running to ‘complete the term vacate’ because she was appointed to fill the vacancy after Tom Plunkett resigned,” Conway said. “Place 1 normally wouldn’t have been up till May 2019.

“Whomever wins the May 2018 election for place 1 will only be in that position until May 2019,” Conway said. “They will then run again, and the winner will be back on the regular 3 year term schedule.”

“Board members serve overlapping three-year terms and elections for board seats are conducted annually each May,” the school board website reads.

In December, it was reported that Pete Cain resigned when he moved out of district. Yet, place 6 was scheduled to be up for election in May 2018. “So, there is nothing different about the other two places,” Conway said.

Jason Adams’ position, place 2, was also scheduled for election in May 2018. Even though the election is not until May, packets have to be in sooner. All candidates need to have the packet filled out and turned in by Feb. 16, at 4 p.m.

Any potential candidates need to bring the completed packet to Anna ISD 501 S. Sherley Anna, Texas 75409. The packets can be mailed, just keep in mind the time crunch.