On Dec. 15, 2016, the Anna Independent School District board of trustees voted on the name for the district’s new elementary school. The board decided to name it the Judy Lindsey Harlow Elementary School. Judy Harlow is a member of the Anna Area Historical Preservation Society, and served on the Anna Independent School District for 27 years as a secretary, teacher and librarian.

“Anna ISD is proud to honor Judy Harlow as the namesake of our newest elementary school,” Melane Woodbury, Anna ISD communications and marketing specialist, said. “She has been an important pioneer for our school district and continues to be an integral part of our growing community.”

The meeting started when the Administrator Student Advisory Committee presented their report on the students’ extra-curricular activities. The Future Farmers of America had an auction and raised $8,400. There was a basketball tournament and the Anna High School boys’ basketball team won second place and the girls’ team won the final game. The Anna High School choir also held a concert for more than 1,000 spectators.

The Anna High School Student Council, led by Juan Sanchez, offered their presentation. In October, the student council hosted the Texas Association of Student Council District 3 meeting. Originally, the students had plans to run for a state office. However, after the meeting, they decided to run for a district office. The entire student council runs for the position, then they choose a representative once they are elected.

The board of trustees also presented the Teacher of the Month and “Caught in the act” award for each school. The “Caught in the Act” award is for a faculty or staff member that goes above and beyond the call of duty. The recipients for the teacher of the month awards were Hannah Britt from the Anna Early Childhood Center, Kelsey Baker from Joe K. Bryant Elementary, Mary Ayeni from Sue E. Rattan Elementary, Crystal Robinett from Anna Middle School, and Christine Wood from Anna High School. The “Caught in the Act” recipients were Maria Guiterrez from the Early Childhood Center, Sandra Cerqueria from Bryant Elementary, Keri Davis from Rattan Elementary, Derek Homer from Anna Middle and Kimberly Bert from Anna High School.