Melissa’s Alexis Pevehouse and Audrey Solomon have received All-State Honorable Mention recognition from the Texas Sports Writers Association. Pevehouse, a sophomore last season, was District 11-4A’s Offensive Player of the Year as well as a First-Team All-Texomaland pick. Batting from the lead-off spot, she posted a .538 batting average with eight home runs, 14 doubles and three triples. Pevehouse’s slugging percentage was 1.022 with an on-base-plus-slugging percentage of 1.629. She collected 49 hits, 41 RBIs and a school-record 52 runs scored during the last campaign while stealing 20 bases.

The Lady Cards’ pitching ace as well, Pevehouse set school records for wins (19), strikeouts (200) and earned run average (1.97). She was among the Class 4A state leaders in wins, strikeouts, hits, earned run average, runs scored and home runs.

“‘Peve’ is a very hard worker, as she is always pushing to improve her play at the plate and in the field,” Melissa head coach Eric Rodgers said. “She did a tremendous job for us this past season and we look for great things in the future for her and her teammates.”

Solomon, as a sophomore shortstop and third baseman, was a unanimous First-Team All-District infield pick as well as an Honorable Mention All-Texomaland selectee. At the plate, she set school records for home runs (11) and RBIs (46) and finished among the state leaders in both categories. Solomon batted .455 with a 9.89 slugging percentage and a 1.498 on-base-plus-slugging percentage. All told, she belted 40 hits with 12 doubles in 2017 and stole 11 bases.

“I can’t say enough about Audrey,” Rodgers said. “She is a quiet leader and just an all-around impressive softball player. I stated before the year that we expected great things from Audrey and she did not disappoint.”

Pevehouse and Solomon helped the Lady Cards achieve a school-record 23 wins last season and the program’s third-straight trip to the playoffs – (the only post-season appearances in school history.) Along the way, Melissa rose as high as 11th in state rankings posted by the Texas Girls Coaches Association and still held the 25th spot when the playoffs began. In the bi-district playoffs, the Lady Cards fell to No. 3-ranked Crandall after holding a late 3-2 lead. In that one, Pevehouse collected nine strikeouts and went 2-for-3 at the plate with a double and homerun, and Solomon slapped a double.

Complete Class 4A All-State team

(Area players/coaches in bold)

Coach of the Year: Bryan Chaney, Krum

Player of the Year: Tristan Bridges, Krum

First team


Tristan Bridges, Krum; Jade Guzman, Vernon; Aaliyah Ruiz, Beeville Jones

Catcher: Elaina Garcia, Springtown

First base: Shelby Dixon, La Grange

Second base: Kylie Matula, Needville

Third base: Regan Smith, Krum

Shortstop: Avery Williams, Krum

Outfield: Maddie Goin, Krum; Jordyn Baugh, Robinson ; Tianna Sandoval, Rio Hondo

DP/Utility: Jodie Vaughn, Seminole

Second team

Pitchers: Abby Reeves, Godley; Rachel Williams, Lorena; Chyanne Ellett, Brownwood

Catcher: Morgan Sebastian, Krum

First base: Samantha Barnett, Liberty Hill

Second base: Chelcie Pierce, Carthage

Third base: Tara Oltmann, Giddings

Shortstop: Mauri Balderas, Andrews

Outfield: Ashley Lopez, Levelland; Kamyree Keilberg, Giddings; Bianca Cruz, Rio Hondo

DP/Utility: Ashtyn Ishcomer, Nevada Community

Third team

Pitchers: Taylor Wills, Carthage; Regan Dunn, Cuero; Brianna Robinson, Henderson

Catcher: Bailee Nickerson, North Lamar

First base: Lindsay Beutnagel, Krum

Second base: Jessalyn Burkett, Beeville Jones

Third base: Sydney Johnson, Spring Hill

Shortstop: Joely Williamson, Liberty Hill

Outfield: Marley Morales, Andrews; Jeserale Moore, Andrews; Emily Junell, Bushland

DP/Utility: Jennifer Flores, Rio Hondo

Honorable mention

Pitchers: Reagan Richardson, North Lamar; Kaycee Parker, Pittsburg; Madeline Barber, Gilmer; Darby Fitzpatrick, La Grange; Taylor Murphy, Sweeny; Alexis Pevehouse, Melissa; Katy Janes, Huffman Hargrave; Saleen Flores, Beeville Jones; Morgan Page, Giddings; Ashlyn Seaton, Bullard; Tatum Goff, Rusk; Murphy Williams, Gladewater; Taylor Franco, Monahans.

Catchers: Felixia Hinojosa, Beeville Jones; Lauren Hager, Vernon; Lexi DeLaCruz, Andrews; Cayleigh England, Iowa Park; Erykah Wessels, Monahans; Zoie Pilgrim, Gladewater

First base: Kristen Green, Robinson; Carson Robertson, Carthage; Sydney Reynolds, Pittsburg; Joanna Powell, Bellville

Second base: Kristin Tugwell, Rusk

Third base: Adriana Bradley, Tatum; Ryleigh Aungst, Princeton; Samantha Smith, Athens

Shortstops: Halle Lytal, Bushland; Loren Kelly, Rockport-Fulton; Audrey Solomon, Melissa; Kayman Courtney, Carthage; Alexa Castellanos, Rio Hondo; Josie Jenkins, Caddo Mills; Katy Schaefer, Sweeny

Outfielders: Jordyn Robinson, Robinson; Megan Kessler, Sweeny; Marley Morales, Andrews; Cheyenne Trevino, Bay City; Jayla Landrum, Spring Hill; Dez Cardenas, Huffman Hargrave; Miranda Kowles, Bellville; Taylor Strain, Robinson; Ashley Guyton, Lorena; Miranda Villegas, Levelland; Lauren Acosta, Iowa Park

DP/Utility: Natalie Winborne, Pampa; Cylie Wragg, Gladewater; Abigal Torres, Bay City