On Saturday, the Anna Lady Coyote varsity and junior varsity cross country teams completed their final tune-up for the District 12-3A competition, to be held on Tuesday in Melissa.

"The varsity squad ran well in a very large field, finishing in fifth place, out of 19 teams," Anna coach Hoot Jones said.

Those same varsity runners with the order of their finish are as follows: Jordan Miller, Itzia Naranjo, Paige Lehrmann, Raye Moran, Dannie Garcia, Autumn Spaeth and Amanda Griffith.

The JV ladies and their order of finish are as follows: Amber Ramos, Ally Woodruff, Mandy Sarro and Taylor Hellums.

The Anna Middle School girls cross country team finished in third place in the Melissa cross country meet.

"Those young ladies have continued to compete well each week," Jones said. "They are all looking forward to the district meet on that same Melissa course. Madison Hemenway led the squad as she powered her way round the course in a very good time."

Listed below are the order of finish for the young Coyote runners: Madison Hemenway, Emily Hanna, Precious Antwi, Abby Sanders, Mary Harris, Hannah Heath, Lilliana Contreras, Zoe Wilson, Kaleith Terry, Taylor Gaydish, Madison Condron and Katelyn Rasperry.